What happens to your ChatGPT chats when you delete them: How to recover them and other details


What happens to your ChatGPT chats when you delete them: How to recover them and other details

ChatGPT users can manage their chat history in different ways. Such actions include the removal of unwanted conversations, archiving the required conversations, and other actions. If a user removes a conversation, it will be deleted from the chat history and scheduled for deletion by OpenAI in 30 days.“Users cannot retrieve deleted conversations through the ChatGPT interface, APIs or Support,” says OpenAI. This prevents users from retrieving conversations they may have deleted by mistake. If a conversation appears missing, users should check a few things first. Here are all the details that you need to know about managing your ChatGPT chat history:

How to delete a chat in ChatGPT

Hover over the chat you wish to remove in the chat history sidebar to delete a conversation. To delete a chat, tap the three dots (…) next to the chat title, then tap Delete and confirm the deletion.Once deleted, the conversation is removed from the chat history.

Can you recover a deleted ChatGPT chat

No. OpenAI says deleted chats cannot be retrieved through the ChatGPT interface, APIs or Support. This also applies to conversations deleted using the Delete all chats option under Settings > Data controls.If a chat appears to be missing, however, it may have been archived rather than deleted. Users should also check that they are signed into the correct OpenAI account or workspace.

How to check archived chats

​After saving the needed chat conversations, here is how you can view them: Click Settings > Data control > Manage for Archived chats.If your chat conversation is in the list, you have the choice to unarchive it by selecting ‘Unarchive’.If the conversation history isn’t complete, you can refresh ChatGPT or log out and log back in. OpenAI also advises you to visit their service status page if there are any ongoing incidents.​​

How to archive a ChatGPT chat

To archive a conversation, hover over the chat in the sidebar and click on the three dots ( … ) and select Archive. No confirmation necessary.Archived chats are still stored in the account with the default retention settings. Deleting marks the conversation for permanent deletion; archiving does not.​

What happens to connected app data

If ChatGPT has used synced data from connected apps such as Google Drive, Gmail or Calendar in a conversation, deleting that conversation also removes the connected app data retained within it from the account, subject to standard retention and legal requirements.Disconnecting an app only prevents ChatGPT from accessing new data from it. It does not remove existing conversations that used data from that app.

How to avoid losing important chats

If you may need a conversation later, archive it instead of deleting it. Users can also export their ChatGPT data by going to Settings > Data controls > Export data.If you’ve already deleted a conversation, there is no supported way to restore it.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *